WhatsApp will now let customers management who sees their on-line standing, depart teams silently, and extra

Many people have these sorts of kin who’re extraordinarily devoted to sharing and forwarding an limitless stream of Good Mornings, Good Evenings, and others in WhatsApp teams. And whereas it’s extremely annoying, merely leaving the WhatsApp group would make for a clumsy confrontation. Thankfully, WhatsApp has your again, and now it has brough forth an answer to this drawback.

The Meta-owned messaging platform has introduced a number of new privateness options supposed to offer customers extra management over their WhatsApp expertise and instruments to protect their privateness. Amongst these options is a strategy to exit a WhatsApp group silently with out alerting the quite a few different members of the group.

“New privateness options coming to WhatsApp: exit group chats with out notifying everybody, management who can see once you’re on-line, and forestall screenshots on view as soon as messages. We’ll maintain constructing new methods to guard your messages and maintain them as non-public and safe as face-to-face conversations,” mentioned Mark Zuckerberg, founder and CEO of Meta.

Allow us to deal with the options introduced by WhatsApp one-by-one:

1. Management who sees your on-line standing

WhatsApp customers are accustomed to the “Final Seen” characteristic obtainable simply beneath the title of the particular person they’re conversing with. To this point, their privateness settings let customers determine whether or not they wish to share it with everybody, their contacts, or no person.

Now, WhatsApp is rolling out the same characteristic that may allow you to disguise your on-line standing from your pals and contacts. Often called “on-line presence management,” it is a characteristic that has been below beta testing for iOS final month. You may select who can see your on-line standing and who can’t, and you’ll change these settings at any time.

See also  Indian govt. bans WhatsApp teams for allegedly spreading misinformation and coordinating protests towards Agnipath army reforms

This characteristic can be obtainable on each the net and cell variations of WhatsApp as soon as it rolls out later this month.

2. Screenshot blocking for “View As soon as” messages

View As soon as messages is a characteristic WhatsApp had rolled out close to the top of final yr – as soon as customers despatched a View As soon as photograph or video, the sender wouldn’t have the ability to view it once more later, nor can they ahead, save, star, or share a View As soon as message. The only loophole was taking a screenshot (which renders the entire level of sending a View As soon as message moot), and now, WhatsApp is plugging that gap as properly.

It’s now testing a “screenshot blocking” characteristic for View As soon as messages which can do precisely what it seems like – it’ll forestall customers from taking screenshots of View As soon as messages. It’s at present in beta proper now and can roll out “quickly.”

3. Go away teams silently

This characteristic is more likely to be helpful the following time you wish to exit any household (or different annoying) WhatsApp teams and keep away from awkward confrontations on the subsequent bodily assembly. It lets customers depart the WhatsApp group(s) with out alerting the opposite members – solely the admins of the teams obtain the notifications.

This can roll out to each the net and cell variations of WhatsApp.

“At WhatsApp, we’re targeted on constructing product options that empower individuals to have extra management and privateness over their messages. Through the years, we’ve added interlocking layers of safety to assist maintain their conversations safe, and the brand new options is a method we proceed to ship on our dedication to maintain messages non-public,” Ami Vora, Head of Product at WhatsApp, mentioned.

See also  Snap rolls out Snapchat+, a paid subsription service in a number of international locations